<< back
João J. G. Lima

226 089 854


Biographic Notes
João J.G. Lima is an assistant professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy of the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Porto. He was awarded a first degree in Astronomy by the University of Porto in 1987/1988, a Master degree in Astronomy by the University of Sussex, U.K. in 1988/1989 and a PhD by the University of St.Andrews, U.K. in 1994/1995. He is a member of IA since 2014.

Current research interests focus on magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) models of stellar winds and jets. In particular how these can be used to simulate outflows and accretion around young stellar objects (YSO's).

ADS public library

Lastest publications at IA (or with IA Researchers)F. S. Barros, P. A. Graça, J. J. G. Lima, R. Pinto, A. Restivo, M. Villa, 2024,
Using Recurrent Neural Networks to improve initial conditions for a solar wind forecasting model,
Engineering Applications of Artificial Intelligence, 133
>> Abstract
C. Sauty, R. M. G. Albuquerque, V. Cayatte, J. J. G. Lima, J. F. Gameiro, 2022,
Nonradial and nonpolytropic astrophysical outflows. XI. Simulations of the circumstellar environment of RY Tauri,
Astronomy & Astrophysics, 664, 13
>> Abstract
M. Balaton, J. Cavadas, P. Simeão Carvalho, J. J. G. Lima, 2021,
Programming Ozobots for teaching astronomy,
Physics Education, 56
>> Abstract
R. M. G. Albuquerque, J. F. Gameiro, S. Alencar, J. J. G. Lima, C. Sauty, C. Melo, 2020,
Accretion in low-mass members of the Orion Nebula Cluster with young transition disks,
Astronomy & Astrophysics, 636, 16
>> Abstract
M. Oshagh, N. C. Santos, P. Figueira, V. Zh. Adibekyan, A. Santerne, S. C. C. Barros, J. J. G. Lima, 2015,
Polar stellar-spots and grazing planetary transits. Possible explanation for the low number of discovered grazing planets,
Astronomy & Astrophysics, 583, L1
>> Abstract
V. Cayatte, N. Vlahakis, T. Matsakos, J. J. G. Lima, K. Tsinganos, C. Sauty, 2014,
Counter-rotation in relativistic magnetohydrodynamic jets,
The Astrophysical Journal Letters, 788, L19_1 - L19_5
>> Abstract

João J. G. Lima
Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa Universidade do Porto Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade de Coimbra
Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia COMPETE 2020 PORTUGAL 2020 União Europeia