Building the World’s Largest Telescopes at ESO
2015 junho 04

«Astronomy is the study of the Universe and everything in it: planets, stars, gaseous nebulae, galaxies, black holes, dark matter and dark energy. Ever since Galileo realized that by using a telescope there was more to see, astronomers have used advances in technology to build larger and better telescopes on the ground and in space allowing to peer even deeper in the Universe.»

O Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço e a Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa têm o prazer de convidar todo o público para a palestra Building the World’s Largest Telescopes at ESO, por Tim de Zeeuw, Diretor Geral do ESO – Observatório Europeu do Sul, a organização de investigação em Astronomia mais produtiva do mundo.

Descarregar cartaz em PDF

Ter. 9 jun. 15:00
Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa / Anfiteatro 3.2.14
(Palestra em inglês)

ESO is an international organisation for astronomy founded in 1962 by five countries. Portugal joined in 2000. ESO currently has 14 Member States in Europe with Poland and Brazil poised to join. Together these countries represent approximately 30 percent of the world’s astronomers. ESO builds and operates world-leading observatories in the Atacama desert in northern Chile. The flagship is the Very Large Telescope on Paranal consisting of telescopes each with an 8.2 m diameter mirror. ESO partners with North America and East Asia in the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array on Chajnantor at 5000m altitude, which is the worlds’ most powerful radio telescope. And ESO has recently started construction of the Extremely Large Telescope with a main mirror of 39 m diameter, the world’s largest eye on the sky, on Armazones close to Paranal. The colloquium will provide an overview of the ESO programme and include some recent scientific results.

Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa Universidade do Porto Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade de Coimbra
Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia COMPETE 2020 PORTUGAL 2020 União Europeia