<< back
Fundamental stellar parameters for selected T-Tauri stars in the Chamaeleon and Rho Ophiuchus star-forming regions

D. J. James, A. Aarnio, A. Richert, P. Cargile, N. C. Santos, C. Melo, J. Bouvier

We present the results of an optical photometry and high-resolution spectroscopy campaign for a modest sample of X-ray selected stars in the Chamaeleon and Rho Ophiuchus star-forming regions. With R ~50 000 optical spectra, we establish kinematic membership of the parent association and confirm stellar youth for each star in our sample. With the acquisition of new standardized BVIc photometry, in concert with near-infrared data from the literature, we derive age and mass from stellar positions in model-dependent Hertzsprung-Russell diagrams. We compare isochronal ages derived using colour-dependent extinction values finding that, within error bars, ages are the same irrespective of whether E(B - V), E(V - Ic), E(J - H) or E(H - K) is used to establish extinction, although model ages tend to be marginally younger for redder Ecolour values. For Cham I and η Cham members, we derive ages of ≲5-6 Myr, whereas our three η Cha candidates are more consistent with a ≳25 Myr post-T Tauri star population. In Rho Ophiuchus, most stars in our sample have isochronal ages <10 Myr. Five objects show evidence of strong infrared excess (Av > 5) in the Two Micron All Sky Survey colour-colour diagram, however in terms of Hα emission, all stars except RXJ1625.6-2613 are consistent with being weak-lined T-Tauri stars. Spectral energy distributions (SEDs) over the range ≃4000 Å < λ < 1000 μm, show that only one Chamaeleon star (RXJ1112.7 -7637) and three Rho Ophiuchus stars (ROXR1 13, RXJ1625.6-2613 & RXJ1627.1-2419) reveal substantial departures from a bare photosphere.

circumstellar matter, stars: evolution, stars: fundamental parameters, Hertzsprung-Russell and colour-magnitude diagrams, stars: late-type, stars: pre-main-sequence

Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society
Volume 459, Issue 2, Page 1363
2016 June

>> ADS>> DOI

Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa Universidade do Porto Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade de Coimbra
Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia COMPETE 2020 PORTUGAL 2020 União Europeia