mainkey datesprogrammeinvited speakersparticipantsregistration feesabstract informationvenue, logistics and travelcode of conduct


<< latest conferences
8th TESS/15th Kepler Asteroseismic Science Consortium Workshop

Workshop Poster

This decade has witnessed significant advancements in the development and application of precise seismic probes of stellar astrophysics, yielding a diverse array of results covering different aspects of the physics in different types of stars. Asteroseismology has emerged as a powerful tool, successfully integrating with other techniques to study stars, planetary systems, and Galactic stellar populations. The ongoing refinement of the theoretical framework, through improved models with better physical ingredients, and employment of more precise data analysis methods continue to broaden the influence of asteroseismology on stellar astrophysics in general. Notably, ensemble asteroseismology has evolved into a mature approach, offering unique insights into critical issues within stellar physics.

This workshop aims to serve as a platform for a comprehensive review and discussion of the latest findings and their implications. The focus will be placed on new ways of improving the physics in the models, addressing aspects such as convection, angular momentum transport, magnetic fields, and mixing. Additionally, the workshop will delve into approaches for leveraging the wealth of existing and upcoming data. Recognizing the synergies with other topics, ranging from Galactic astronomy to exoplanets, the program will prominently feature sessions dedicated to these interdisciplinary connections.

The workshop will take place from 15-19 July 2024 at the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Porto (FCUP), Porto, Portugal. Online participation will also be possible.

Following the workshop, an advanced school will be held from 21-26 July 2024. This school will concentrate on training a new generation of researchers in asteroseismology, equipping them to lead the future of the field and adeptly handle data from upcoming space and ground missions. For more information, please visit the school website at

For inquiries email

Alejandro Córsico (Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina)
Dominic Bowman (Newcastle University, UK)
Henryka Netzel (EPFL, Switzerland)
Jamie Tayar (University of Florida, USA)
Luca Casagrande (Australian National University, Australia)
Marc Hon (MIT Kavli Institute, USA)
Margarida Cunha (IA, Portugal)
Mário João Monteiro (IA & FCUP, Portugal)
Rhita-Maria Ouazzani (Paris Observatory, France)
Tiago Campante (IA & FCUP, Portugal) (Chair)

Andreas Neitzel
Ângela Santos
Diego Bossini
Elsa Silva
Inês Rolo
Manuel Monteiro
Margarida Cunha
Maria Ferreira
Mário João Monteiro
Miguel Clara
Nuno Moedas
Rúben Costa
Tiago Campante (Chair)
Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa Universidade do Porto Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade de Coimbra
Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia COMPETE 2020 PORTUGAL 2020 União Europeia