<< latest conferences
Massively Parallel Large Area Spectroscopy from Space

Scientific breakthroughs are enabled by new capabilities in astrophysical instrumentation from space platforms. The coming years will provide us with massive imaging surveys in the optical and near-IR with Euclid and WFIRST, but the next frontier in space astrophysics is undoubtedly massively parallel large area spectroscopy from space. This workshop will gather scientists and engineers to discuss the science drivers and design optimizations for the next generation spectroscopic missions with a special focus on the ATLAS probe mission concept.

A massively parallel large area spectroscopic mission with sensitivity from 1-4µm opens up for a wide range of science and in this workshop we will bring together observers and theorists with an interest in these future developments.

Confirmed invited speakers
Prof. Richard Ellis (University College London)
Dr. Stephanie Escoffier (CPPM, Marseille)
Prof. John Peacock (University of Edinburgh)
Prof. Andrea Ferrara (SNS, Pisa)
Dr. Natascha Förster Schreiber (MPE Garching)
Prof. Bob Benjamin (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater)
Dr. Iain McDonald  (University of Manchester)
Prof. Sonia Fornasier (Observatory of Paris)
Prof. Yun Wang (IPAC, Caltech)
Dr. Massimo Robberto (STScI)
Prof. Lynne Hildebrand (Caltech)

Dr. Jarle Brinchmann (IA, Co-Chair)
Prof. Simona Mei (APC, University of Paris, Co-Chair)
Dr. Laura Pentericci (INAF, Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma)
Prof. Yun Wang (IPAC, Caltech)
Dr. René Laureijs (ESTEC)
Prof. Lynne Hildenbrand (Caltech)
Dr. Mark Dickinson (NOAO)
Dr. Massimo Robberto (STScI)
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço Universidade do Porto Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia COMPETE 2020 PORTUGAL 2020 União Europeia