mainkey datesregistration<< programmepostersabstracts bookadditional meetingsparticipantsinformation for communicationssocial programmevenueaccommodationsponsorsproceedings


<< latest conferences
Seismology of the Sun and the Distant Stars 2016
Using Today’s Successes to Prepare the Future
Joint TASC2 & KASC9 Workshop – SPACEINN & HELAS8 Conference

Investigating the origin of flares in A-type stars
May Gade Pedersen (Institute of Astronomy, Leuven University, Belgium), Victoria Antoci (SAC, Aarhus University), Heidi Korhonen (Dark Cosmology Centre, University of Copenhagen)

Recent studies show evidence of flare-like features in 36 Kepler A-type stars which were interpreted to be intrinsic, contradicting theory. Flares in late-type stars are generated through the reconnection of magnetic field lines in stellar atmospheres. For magnetic fields to be sufficiently strong to emerge at the surface and form flares a dynamo is required, which is operated by a convective envelope. A-type stars only possess shallow convective envelopes of the order of 1-3% of the total stellar radius and therefore are not expected to support flaring. On the other hand X-ray flares have been observed in strongly magnetic A- and B-type stars and through colliding winds in massive binary systems. Strong stellar winds vanish for late B-type stars and normal A-type stars only have weak global magnetic fields. Therefore, neither reconnection or strong stellar winds should support flaring in A-type stars. We analyse the 36 A-type stars previously found to be flaring, setting specific criteria in order to identify these features. Our results strongly disagree with the numbers found in literature. However, the positive detections follow the expected correlation between flare duration and intensity. We present results on our investigation of the origin of these flares, considering effects from contamination and combined light as well as study binarity from spectroscopy and possible circumstellar disks.

Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço Universidade do Porto Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia COMPETE 2020 PORTUGAL 2020 União Europeia